Ferry Road, "St Mary's Church": Difference between revisions

From Tedsoc Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
No edit summary
Line 16: Line 16:
Click on any photo for a higher resolution version. Copyright for the material on this page rests with the contributor.
Click on any photo for a higher resolution version. Copyright for the material on this page rests with the contributor.


[[Category:BTMs]]
[[Category:Buildings]]
[[Category:Buildings]]
[[Category:Listed Buildings]]
[[Category:Listed Buildings]]

Revision as of 18:47, 20 August 2013

St Mary's Church,Twickenham Road

Road: Twickenham Road, Teddington

Property: St Mary's Church

St Mary’s Church is the old parish church of Teddington, part of which dates from the 16th century. It is grade II* listed (an early listing dating from 1952). Much of the church is 18th century, including the battlemented tower of brown brick, with 19th century additions - the chancel and vestry. The oldest part of the church is the red brick south aisle where, externally, Tudor brickwork with blue diaper work is visible. The east window has 3-lights and is perpendicular style. The tower used to be surmounted by a cupola.

St Mary’s was the local parish church until 1889 when it had become too small and was closed and replaced by the new St Alban’s – opposite; it was rededicated as a church in 1938 and returned to being the parish church (now St Mary with St Alban) in 1979.

The church’s website gives a fuller history: http://stmarywithstalban.org/content/history


This page is part of the Directory of Buildings of Townscape Merit (BTMs) and Listed Buildings in Teddington assembled by the Planning and History Groups of The Teddington Society. Click on any photo for a higher resolution version. Copyright for the material on this page rests with the contributor.