Broom Road 5, "The Lensbury"
Road: Broom Road
Property: The Lensbury
The Lensbury Club was first formed in 1920 as the sports and social club for the staff of the Royal Dutch Shell Group. The London head offices were at St Helen’s Court and 16 Finsbury Circus and the name “Lensbury” is a permutation of the St HeLENS and FinsBURY. The Club was progressively extended by the acquisition of neighbouring properties until 1936 when a design was put forward to demolish the three old houses and erect a new clubhouse building. Designed by the architects Walker and Harwood and built by Trollope and Colls, the new building was opened 17 September 1938 with hotel accommodation for 200, dining rooms and a ballroom. Further additions were made in the 1970’s and 1980’s with the addition of a conference centre containing 30 meeting rooms. The Lensbury achieved Building of Township Merit status in 2004.
This page is part of the Directory of Buildings of Townscape Merit in Teddington assembled by the Planning Group of The Teddington Society. Copyright for the material on this page rests with the contributor.