Anlaby Road: Difference between revisions

From Tedsoc Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
m Text replacement - "[https://www.richmond.gov.uk/home/services/planning/listed_buildings/locally_listed_buildings.htm website]" to "[https://www.richmond.gov.uk/locally_listed_buildings website]"
 
(25 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
This page is part of the [[Directory of Buildings of Townscape Merit (BTMs) and Listed Buildings]] in Teddington assembled  
This page is part of the [[Directory of Buildings of Townscape Merit (BTMs) and Listed Buildings]] in Teddington assembled by the [[Planning Group|Planning]] and [[History Group|History]] Groups of [https://www.teddingtonsociety.org The Teddington Society].  
by the [[Planning Group]] of [http://www.teddingtonsociety.org.uk The Teddington Society].  
You can view {{PAGENAME}} on [http://goo.gl/maps/F7PVv Google Maps].
You can view {{PAGENAME}} on [http://xxxx Google Maps].


Anlaby Road, called Albany Road on the OS map of 1863 was laid out about this time but only two houses were situated in the road for the next 20 years. These were Ellington House  and Lansdowne House which were opposite each other about half way between Hampton Road and Connaught Road (or Coburg Road as it was called in 1893). The houses adjoined the gardens of the houses in Hampton Road. By 1893 four more houses were on the east side of the road, south of Connaught Road and 3 pairs of semi-detached houses were on the west side between Connaught Road and Windsor Road, Windsor Road and Royal Road, and between Royal Road and Princes Road.  
Anlaby Road, called Albany Road on the OS map of 1863 was laid out about this time but only two houses were situated in the road for the next 20 years. These were ''Ellington House'' and ''Lansdowne House'' which were opposite each other about half way between [[Hampton Road, Teddington]] and [[Connaught Road ]](or Coburg Road as it was called in 1893). The houses adjoined the gardens of the houses in [[Hampton Road, Teddington|Hampton Road]]. By 1893 four more houses were on the east side of the road, south of Connaught Road and 3 pairs of semi-detached houses were on the west side between [[Connaught Road]] and Windsor Road, Windsor Road and [[Royal Road]], and between [[Royal Road]] and [[Princes Road]].  


Note: according to the historical information above, all these houses were built after1883 and before 1893, probably all in the same development.It seems odd that only some(16-36) have been designated as BTMs when they are all so similar. (AM)
Note: according to the historical information above, all these houses were built after 1883 and before 1893, probably all in the same development.  
    
    
The properties in this road designated by the Council on their [http://www.richmond.gov.uk/home/environment/urban_design/buildings_of_townscape_merit.htm website]  
The properties in this road designated by the Council on their [https://www.richmond.gov.uk/locally_listed_buildings website]  
as Buildings of Townscape Merit are:  
as Buildings of Townscape Merit are:  


 
* [[Anlaby Road 2-14]]
<center>
{| border="1" cellpadding="10" width=50%
| {{PAGENAME}}
 
| 16-36 (evens)
 
|}
</center>
 
 
Click below for the page about each Building of Townscape Merit in this road for which we have already gathered information:
 
* [[Anlaby Road 16-22]]
* [[Anlaby Road 16-22]]
* [[Anlaby Road 24-36]]
* [[Anlaby Road 24-36]]
* [[Anlaby Road 56]]
* [[Anlaby Road 25]]
* [[Anlaby Road 39, "Anlaby Lodge"]]





Latest revision as of 09:25, 7 July 2024

This page is part of the Directory of Buildings of Townscape Merit (BTMs) and Listed Buildings in Teddington assembled by the Planning and History Groups of The Teddington Society. You can view Anlaby Road on Google Maps.

Anlaby Road, called Albany Road on the OS map of 1863 was laid out about this time but only two houses were situated in the road for the next 20 years. These were Ellington House and Lansdowne House which were opposite each other about half way between Hampton Road, Teddington and Connaught Road (or Coburg Road as it was called in 1893). The houses adjoined the gardens of the houses in Hampton Road. By 1893 four more houses were on the east side of the road, south of Connaught Road and 3 pairs of semi-detached houses were on the west side between Connaught Road and Windsor Road, Windsor Road and Royal Road, and between Royal Road and Princes Road.

Note: according to the historical information above, all these houses were built after 1883 and before 1893, probably all in the same development.

The properties in this road designated by the Council on their website as Buildings of Townscape Merit are: