High Street 127-133: Difference between revisions

From Tedsoc Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
m Text replace - "[[Historical Research Group|" to "[[History Group|"
No edit summary
Line 5: Line 5:
'''Property''': 127-129
'''Property''': 127-129


Nos 127-133 are thought to have been called Cambridge Villas. The Misses Sanford wrote that these are “A terrace of 4 large houses. Each pair of houses shares a roof but the houses are joined by a centre section which has a pediment at roof level on which is centred a sculptured head. Each house has a front door up 8 steps and the porch is pilastered. On this floor is a large 3-sectioned bay window down to near floor level. On the upper floor are two sash windows again pilastered. Each house has one dormer window in the roof. There is a semi-basement with a bay window. In the centre under the pediment are two windows on the upper floor, a single window on the lower floor and two doors on the ground floor. There are no steps up to these doors. These houses are painted a darkish gray with the pilasters etc. in neutral cement colour.In 2013 the houses are painted light cream. All were built by Mr Nurse c. 1860.
1978 Part of these houses were used as offices by solicitors, No 133 was occupied by Whiddington, Estate Agents
127 2013 imatch and Contact Francentact France
129 Butters & Company Chartered Accountants
131 Upper floors residential flats
Basement The Sunday Events Company; Tru Merchandise; Cooper Faure
133 Residential


Anyone who knows anything about these buildings and their history or who has a better photograph is asked to get in touch by [mailto:kandn.atkinson@tiscali.co.uk email].  
Anyone who knows anything about these buildings and their history or who has a better photograph is asked to get in touch by [mailto:kandn.atkinson@tiscali.co.uk email].  

Revision as of 20:15, 2 August 2013

127-129 High Street

Road: High Street, Teddington

Property: 127-129

Nos 127-133 are thought to have been called Cambridge Villas. The Misses Sanford wrote that these are “A terrace of 4 large houses. Each pair of houses shares a roof but the houses are joined by a centre section which has a pediment at roof level on which is centred a sculptured head. Each house has a front door up 8 steps and the porch is pilastered. On this floor is a large 3-sectioned bay window down to near floor level. On the upper floor are two sash windows again pilastered. Each house has one dormer window in the roof. There is a semi-basement with a bay window. In the centre under the pediment are two windows on the upper floor, a single window on the lower floor and two doors on the ground floor. There are no steps up to these doors. These houses are painted a darkish gray with the pilasters etc. in neutral cement colour.In 2013 the houses are painted light cream. All were built by Mr Nurse c. 1860.

1978 Part of these houses were used as offices by solicitors, No 133 was occupied by Whiddington, Estate Agents 127 2013 imatch and Contact Francentact France 129 Butters & Company Chartered Accountants 131 Upper floors residential flats Basement The Sunday Events Company; Tru Merchandise; Cooper Faure 133 Residential

Anyone who knows anything about these buildings and their history or who has a better photograph is asked to get in touch by email.


This page is part of the Directory of Buildings of Townscape Merit (BTMs) and Listed Buildings in Teddington assembled by the Planning and History Groups of The Teddington Society. Click on any photo for a higher resolution version. Copyright for the material on this page rests with the contributor.